Sport MotoGP MotoGP Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca

Connect with Us...

  • Facebook: allaboutbikesmag
  • FeedBurner: allaboutbikes/aIXA
  • Reddit: bikefan71
  • Twitter: allaboutbikes
  • YouTube: allaboutbikes

Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca Hot

Casey Stoner at Laguna Seca 2012.
Photo © Studio 819 Brandon Bones Photography

Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca
Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca
Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca

Casey Stoner rode to victory the 2012 Red Bull Laguna Seca MotoGP. He will retire after this season, but he looked anything but over the hill in his farewell ride on the Laguna Seca circuit.

After the morning fog lifted, over 52,000 race fans were treated to some amazing racing in the first of two American legs of the Grand Prix season.

Lorenzo and Stoner

Stoner passed current points leader Jorge Lorenzo on lap 21 of the race and cushioned his victory with solid lap times over the remaining 11 laps around Mazda Raceway. Stoner said about the pass, "Jorge's bike started to slide a bit more. I knew if I could be quite close to him coming out of that turn, I could get a better run than him." He was right, and his tactic paid off.

The podium was rounded out with Lorenzo in second and Dani Pedrosa on the third step.

Season Standings

Because of Stoner’s crash on the last lap of the German MotoGP on July 8, the overall MotoGP standings reflect a different order than the Laguna Seca results. Lorenzo leads the Grand Prix season standings with 205 points and 5 wins. Pedrosa, who has only one season victory, is in second with 182 overall points. Stoner, who has 4 wins in 2012, is in third with 173 points.

Full Results

  1. Casey Stoner (1) – Repsol Honda Team – 43.45.961
  2. Jorge Lorenzo (99) – Yamaha Factory Racing +3.429
  3. Dani Pedrosa (26) – Repsol Honda Team +7.633
  4. Andrea Dovizioso (4) – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +18.602
  5. Cal Crutchlow (35) – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +18.799
  6. Nicky Hayden (69) – Ducati Team +26.902
  7. Stefan Bradl (6) – LCR Honda MotoGP +28.393
  8. Alvaro Bautista (19) – San Carlo Honda Gresini +50.246
  9. Aleix Espargaro (41) – Power black porn Electronics Aspar +1.18.993
  10. Karel Abraham (17) – Cardion AB Motoracing +1.22.076
  11. Randy De Puniet (14) – Power Electronics Aspar +1 lap
  12. Yonny Hernandez (68) – Avintia Blusens +1 lap
  13. Colin Edwards (5) – NGM Mobile Forward Racing +1 lap
  14. Ivan Silva (22) – Avintia Blusens +1 lap

Notable Wrecks

The famed Laguna Seca Corkscrew took its toll on two fan favorites. Ben Spies was visibly injured after his mid-race get-off on the big elevation drop of the Corkscrew. Later, with only three laps left, Valentino Rossi also dismounted on the Corkscrew. Rossi was unhurt.

Fans cheered as Nicky Hayden carried his teammate Rossi on the back of his Ducati on the race’s celebratory post-race lap.

AMA Superbike Results

Josh Hayes continued his dominance of the AMA Superbike season with his 8th consecutive win. Despite the impressive string of wins, Hayes said, "I'm focused on winning each race, not on any streak." His start to checkered flag win takes his record to 11 wins in 14 races.

Hayes is the two-time defending AMA Superbike Champion.


Ben Spies Crash at Laguna Seca 2012

Image Gallery

Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca
Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca
Stoner Wins MotoGP at Laguna Seca
Powered by JReviews

Add comment

Security code

Free Newsletter

Are You Getting Our Newsletter?

Sign Up Now! It's Free!

* Email
First Name
Last Name
 * = Required

Popular Articles

No entries were found

Featured Articles