Sport Dirt Supercross AMA Supercross Final Round in Las Vegas

Connect with Us...

  • Facebook: allaboutbikesmag
  • FeedBurner: allaboutbikes/aIXA
  • Reddit: bikefan71
  • Twitter: allaboutbikes
  • YouTube: allaboutbikes

AMA Supercross Final Round in Las Vegas Hot

Ryan Dungey at Las Vegas

The 2012 AMA Supercross season came to an exciting close this past Saturday at the Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. Although Ryan Villopoto snatched up the championship title back in Houston, the level of intensity out on the track never dropped for a second.

The battle for runner-up raged on until the final checkered flag, with Davi Millsaps (Yamaha) maintaining enough of a points lead over Ryan Dungey (KTM) to win the spot.

Supercross 450

The final Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot award of the season was grabbed by Mike Alessi, but just by a hair. With Dungey hard on his tail, Alessi kept him at bay through the straightaway with an outstretched leg. Dungey answered back by landing inside of Alessi off the first rhythm section and stuffing him up the bank. After that, the lead position belonged solely to Dungey for the remainder of the race.

Alessi would continue to drop further and further behind, eventually ending up in seventh for the race and sixth in the series. Meanwhile, no one was sure if Millsaps would be able to keep his points lead as he trailed behind Jake Weimer (Kawasaki), Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki), and Justin Brayton (Honda).

Then in the third lap, he went off the track after nearly colliding with Weimer in mid-air. Fortunately he was able to shoot right back onto the track and regained his position in no time. By lap 8, Millsaps had worked his way up to third and a fierce battle for second with Weimer ensued.

At one point, Millsaps tapped Weimer’s rear tire going off a small hip and both riders nearly lost it, but they were both able to pull off great saves. In Lap 10, Millsaps finally took a solid lead over Weimer through the whoops, but with Dungey 13 seconds ahead at this point, he wouldn’t be able to push things any further.

Beyond this lap, most riders fell into their grove, except for Weimer who lost his third place position to Brayton in the 15th lap. Dungey would ride flawlessly into first, with Millsaps and Brayton filling out the podium.

Despite an incredible comeback after missing five weeks, Dungey was still nine points shy of runner-up. He tied with Brayton in points at 257, but was awarded third based on number wins. Looking back on the season, we would’ve loved to have seen Dungey and Villopoto duke it out a bit more, but Dungey’s injury left a hole wide open in the standings for Villopoto to wrap things up early.

Supercross 250

This was also the final race for both the East and West Coast Lites. Taking home first place in the East Coast Championship was Justin Barcia (Honda), followed by Ken Roczen (KTM) and Blake Wharton (Suzuki). Over in the West Coast Championship, Eli Tomac (Honda) took first, with Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) and Marvin Musquin (KTM) capturing second and third respectively.

012 Las Vegas Supercross Results:

  1. Ryan Dungey, KTM
  2. Davi Millsaps, Yamaha
  3. Justin Brayton, Honda
  4. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
  5. Josh Grant, Kawasaki
  6. Nico Izzi, Yamaha
  7. Mike Alessi, Suzuki
  8. Weston Peick, Yamaha v
  9. Andrew Short, Honda
  10. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
  11. Broc Tickle, Kawasaki
  12. Justin Sipes, Kawasaki
  13. Chris Blose, Kawasaki
  14. Gavin Faith, Yamaha
  15. Tyler Bowers, Kawasaki

2012 Supercross Championship Points:

  1. Ryan Villopoto, 323
  2. Davi Millsaps, 266
  3. Ryan Dungey, 257
  4. Justin Brayton, 257
  5. Jake Weimer, 229
  6. Mike black porn Alessi, 206
  7. James Stewart, 178
  8. Brett Metcalfe, 177
  9. Broc Tickle, 171
  10. Kevin Windham, 166


2012 AMA Supercross Rd 17 Las Vegas

Powered by JReviews

Add comment

Security code

Free Newsletter

Are You Getting Our Newsletter?

Sign Up Now! It's Free!

* Email
First Name
Last Name
 * = Required

Popular Articles

No entries were found

Featured Articles